Deleting an account

Premium Feature: This is a premium feature and may not be available on all plans. To access this feature, please upgrade to a supporting plan.


If you are on the Premium account plan, you can delete accounts that you aren't using. However, you can’t delete an account if there are any associated items or transactions or if the account has subaccounts. But you can make it inactive to hide it from view in the Accounts List and in menus.  If an account is protected (meaning WorkingPoint requires the account), you can’t delete it, make it Inactive, move it, add subaccounts to it, or rename it.

To delete an account:

  1. If the account has any transactions, move them to another account.

  2. From the Accounts List:

Move the pointer to the left of the account and click the Trashcan to delete.

Reasons why you can't delete an account


If you tried to delete an account in WorkingPoint but you received an error message instead, it could be because of one or more of the following reasons:

  • Reason 1 - The account is a  Protected Account.

Protected accounts are special WorkingPoint accounts that ensure your transactions are recorded correctly. If an account is protected, you can’t delete it, make it inactive, move it, add subaccounts to it, or rename it. 

  • Reason 2 - The account had one or more subaccounts.

Parent and subaccounts can be used to group related accounts. The relationship helps you break out a category into greater detail. The parent account represents a broad account category; subaccounts break down the broad category into smaller accounts. If the account you are trying to delete is a parent account of other accounts, you won't be able to delete it.

To remove the parent/subaccount relationship, go to the Accounts List, locate the subaccount and click  Edit. In the "Subaccount of" field, deselect the parent account (or select a different parent account) and save your changes.

  • Reason 3 - One or more items use the account for tracking sales.

During item setup, you are required to choose an account to capture the sales (revenue) from that item. Selecting the sales account ensures that the revenue earned from a sale is captured in the account of your choice. You can't delete an account if it has been chosen as a sales account for an item.

To identify the items using the account you want to delete, export the Items List and look at the "Sales Account" column. For each of the items that reference the account you want to delete, edit the item, change the sales account and save your changes.

  • Reason 4 - The account has been used a transaction.

You cannot delete an account if it has been used in a transaction, that is, it has been used to record an invoice or quote, a purchase or payment, a journal entry, etc. To see if the account has been used, go to the Accounts List and click on the account. The account has been used if you see any entries recorded in the account activity for "All" dates.

To delete the account if it has been used in a transaction, either 1) delete the transactions, 2) edit the transaction to not include the account or 3) move the entries to another account.

  • Reason 5 - The account has been chosen in Settings as a default account.

WorkingPoint requires that certain types of funds be tracked, such as sales tax, discounts on sales, shipping charges, and shipping insurance. For each of these funds, you need to choose the default account WorkingPoint will use to track the funds.  

To check to see if the account has been selected as a default, go to Settings, then scroll down to "Default Accounts". If the account you are trying to delete is currently selected as a default, simply select another account for that type of funds and click  Save Changes.